Filipino Chicken Adobo

28 Apr

I only garnished with the onion, because I thought it looked too much like BBQ chicken in the photo. 😛

Ever surprised that you like something?  That is how I feel about this dish.  I’m not fond of vinegar.  I hate the smell.  I don’t even like anything that’s pickled, with the exception of nacho sliced jalapeños.  So, when I first had my boyfriend ask his mom how to make this dish, I was put off by the amount of vinegar involved.  But, for some reason, I like it.  It just works.  I’ve been making this for about a year now.  It is so simple to make.  While it’s a new dish for me, this is something my boyfriend ate growing up.  I love to give him a taste of nostalgia.  There’s nothing better than when the taste or smell of something connects you to the past.

What You Need:

  • 6 chicken thighs
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp. black peppercorns
  • 3 bay leaves

Method:

Combine all ingredients in a large pot. Cover and marinate chicken for 1-3 hours in the refrigerator.  I usually marinate overnight, but I didn’t plan ahead this time.  After marinating, bring to boil over high heat, then lower heat. Cover and let simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally. Uncover and simmer until sauce is reduced and thickened, and chicken is tender, about 20 more minutes. Serve with steamed rice.

*Optional* The skin is not going to be crispy, but you can place the chicken skin-side down in a skillet with oil heated on medium-high.  Only cook long enough to crisp up the skin, because you don’t want to cook your chicken to death.  While you’re doing this, you can continue to reduce the remaining sauce in the pot.

One Response to “Filipino Chicken Adobo”

  1. john tugano April 29, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    so yummy…

Leave a Reply

