Lasagna

5 Feb

When it is cold outside, you want something comforting and hearty.  Sometimes soup doesn’t cut it.  Tonight I made a lasagna for dinner, just like my mom made when we were growing up.  Except my mom made her own sauce.  It’s not that I can’t make my own sauce, it’s just… jars of spaghetti sauce were buy one get one free, and I couldn’t pass up a bargain.  I’m definitely not a purist, anyway.  You’ll notice that I use cottage cheese instead of ricotta, which sounds disgusting, but trust me… it’s good.  I hate cottage cheese.  With all the sauce, cheese, meat, and pasta, you won’t even know it’s there, but it adds a creaminess to the dish.  Also, it’s cheaper than ricotta, and I don’t care for the graininess of ricotta.  My boyfriend, who claims not to like lasagna, really enjoyed this lasagna.

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 pound ground beef
  • 1 pound ground Italian sausage
  • 1 onion
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 Jars of your favorite spaghetti sauce (or if you’re feeling ambitious, homemade)
  • 1 1/2 cups small curd cottage cheese
  • 1 (5-ounce) package grated Parmesan
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 9 lasagna noodles (boiled or oven-ready)
  • 2 (8-ounce) packages shredded mozzarella

Method:

Preheat Oven to 350 degrees

In a large pan, combine beef, sausage, onion, and garlic. Season with salt and pepper.  Cook over medium heat until meat is browned and crumbled; drain.

Return meat to pan and add spaghetti sauce. Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer 30 to 45 minutes.  Since you’re using a pre-made sauce, you can eliminate this step, but if you have the time, it really gives you a more robust flavor.

Meanwhile, in a bowl, combine cottage cheese, parmesan, and eggs.

Spoon 1/4 of sauce into bottom of a 13 X 9 X 2-inch baking pan. Place 3 lasagna noodles on top of sauce. Do not overlap noodles. Spread 1/3 of cottage cheese mixture over noodles, top with 1/4 of sauce and 1/3 mozzarella cheese. Repeat layers, ending with sauce, reserving 1/3 of mozzarella cheese.

Bake 45 minutes. Top with remaining cheese and bake 15 minutes or until hot and bubbly. Let rest 10 minutes before serving.

*I know it’s hard to resist cutting into it right away, but you can’t skip this step, or you’ll have a gloppy mess.  I put the garlic bread in the oven while I was letting the lasagna rest.

Resting...

 

2 Responses to “Lasagna”

  1. naomi February 10, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    I’m so going to have to try this. I love lasagna and so does the hubs, but he hates ricotta! What a great idea!

    • bluemixer February 11, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks! That’s just the way my mom always made it, and it wasn’t until I was older that I realized that cottage cheese in lasagna was not the norm. Just make sure you get the small curd cottage cheese.

Leave a Reply

