Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting

4 Feb

I knew I was going to be stuck at home all day today, because I was waiting for the cable guy.  So, I planned a day of baking cupcakes and making lasagna to occupy my time.  I was inspired to make Peanut Butter and Chocolate cupcakes when I was eating at Freddy’s Frozen Custard the other day.  They have a Triple Peanut Butter Concrete that is A-MAZ-ING! I forgot how much I love the chocolate/peanut butter flavor combination.  For these cupcakes, I used cake mix from a box, jazzed up a little, but definitely use your favorite chocolate cake recipe (if you have one).

Cake Ingredients:

  • Chocolate Cake Mix (prepare using the directions on the box) *I used the kind with pudding in the mix*
  • A handful (yeah, real technical stuff here) of semi-sweet chocolate chips (I used Ghirradeli)
  • 1 tsp vanilla

Frosting:

  • 1 Cup Butter (2 sticks)
  • 1 Cup Creamy Peanut Butter
  • 3 Cups confectioners sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 Cup Heavy Cream
  • (optional garnish: miniature Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, halved)

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees

Fix cake mix according to the directions on the package.  Stir in vanilla, and chocolate chips.  Spoon batter into cupcake liners, 2/3 full.  Bake for 18-22 minutes.

After the cupcakes are completely cooled, frost.

Frosting: Mix butter, peanut butter, and vanilla thoroughly with a mixture.  Add the powdered sugar, and mix well.  Add the heavy cream, and mix until the frosting is light and fluffy.

(Make sure to refrigerate any leftover cupcakes, because of the dairy in the frosting.)

One Response to “Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting”

  1. Jeffri February 18, 2011 at 1:32 pm #

    YOU ARE AMAZING! THese are making me hungry!

Leave a Reply

