Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake

14 Oct

My boyfriend was throwing out ideas on goodies I could bake, and one idea was “yellow cake, but in a bar form.”  Interesting… but how?  I was just glad to see him coming out of his comfort zone.  You see, his favorite dessert is Yellow Cake with Chocolate Frosting.  Yeah, that’s right… cake mix from a box, and frosting from a can.  So, I got right on finding a recipe for his yellow cake bar idea.  I did a Google search for yellow cake bars, and I didn’t find anything special.  Then, I remembered seeing an episode of Paula’s Home Cooking where she made a Gooey Butter Cake.  I had never had it before, but it sounded good.  Maybe that would do.  I found the recipe on FoodNetwork.com, and not only does it use a boxed yellow cake mix, she has a pumpkin variation.  SOLD!  My boyfriend, a man of few words (especially if I’m fishing for compliments), said “It’s good.  I wasn’t expecting it to be good.”  Not really what I was looking for… but I thought these were delicious.  I mean, c’mon… two sticks of butter.  Did you think it wouldn’t be good?

I got this recipe straight from the Food Network website, and if any part of this recipe confuses you, they also have a video.  I did change one thing from the original recipe, but it isn’t a big deal.  Her recipe calls for 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg, but I just used 2 tsp pumpkin pie spice.

Ingredients

Cake:

  • 1 (18 1/4-ounce) package yellow cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 (15-ounce) can pumpkin
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 (16-ounce) box powdered sugar
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine the cake mix, egg, and butter and mix well with an electric mixer. Pat the mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 13 by 9-inch baking pan.

To make the filling: In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and pumpkin until smooth. Add the eggs, vanilla, and butter, and beat together. Next, add the powdered sugar and pumpkin pie spice, and mix well. Spread pumpkin mixture over cake batter and bake for 40 to 50 minutes. Make sure not to overbake as the center should be a little gooey.

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake”

  1. naomi October 19, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

    I have made this it is so delish! Yours looks great. And I have to say what a nice girlfriend you are to make what your boyfriend suggested! Lucky guy!

  2. bluemixer October 20, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    You’re too kind, Naomi! Thanks so much. Have you made any of the other versions of gooey butter cake? I was thinking about making one with chocolate topping.

  3. Posky October 21, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    Thank you for this.

    Thank you thank you thank you thank you.

  4. Mikalee Byerman November 26, 2010 at 1:28 am #

    Um. Wow. I mean, WOW…

    Looks amazing – thanks for the inspiration! 🙂

Leave a Reply

