Beer Bread

4 May

I found this recipe on My Baking Addiction last September.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned her blog a dozen times.  It is amazing.  Check it out.  I made this recipe when I first saw it last year, and we just loved it.  You only need one 12 oz beer to make it.  However, an extra beer in the fridge isn’t something we normally have (my fault).  Last weekend, I made a conscious decision to not drink my last beer so I could make this bread.  You can use any beer you want.  I used Zeigenbock, but whatever beer you have should be fine.

Beer Bread (My Baking Addiction)

yields | 1 loaf

Ingredients:

3 cups self-rising flour
1/3 cup sugar
1 teaspoon kosher salt
12 ounces beer
2 tablespoons melted butter

1 handful of cheddar cheese (optional)

Directions:
1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees F.
2. Butter an 8×4 inch loaf pan and set aside. In a large bowl, combine the flour, sugar, salt and beer; mix well. The mixture will be sticky. Pour into the loaf pan and bake for about 55 minutes. (I also sprinkled a little cheese on top before I popped it into the oven.)
3. At the last three minutes of baking, remove from oven, brush the top of the loaf with the melted butter and return to oven for the final three minutes of baking.

3 Responses to “Beer Bread”

  1. Christina May 5, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    Mmmm…I love to make beer bread. I like to use Blue Moon beer in my beer bread. I like the idea of adding cheese to the bread. :)

  2. Amber | Bluebonnets & Brownies May 7, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    I just love beer bread. I got that recipe off Jamie’s site too. It’s especially good when you add a good cheese to it. Stout and gruyere are a great combination. Love your blog, fellow Texan!

    • bluemixer May 7, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

      Mmm… Stout and Gruyere. That sounds like a great combo. I used cheap-o Kraft cheddar, but it was still pretty tasty. LOL

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

