Easy Granny Smith Apple Pie

21 Apr

This pie is… well, easy as pie.  I know that is cheesy, but that’s just me!

Anyway, my mom makes amazing apple pie.  Her ‘secrets’ are that she always uses Pilsbury crust (her excuse:  Why bother making homemade when the store-bought is just as good, and so easy?), and she always uses Granny Smith apples.  The combination of sweet and tart is amazing, and lends itself nicely to a huge scoop of vanilla ice cream.  Here’s the problem.  When you ask my mom for a recipe, she’s like, “Ohhh… sometimes I put 3/4 a Cup of sugar, sometimes I add a cup.  You could put some butter in there, but you don’t have to.  It just depends on what I have on hand.”  It isn’t that she’s trying to hide the recipe from me, it’s just that some things that she’s been making for years, she has never written down, and just wings it.

I think my mom makes it the best, but that’s because it’s always special when my mom bakes it, because it’s usually by request.  I made this pie for my friend’s birthday, and I wish I had made an extra one for myself.

Apple Pie

What You’ll Need:

  • 1 package Pilsbury refrigerated crusts
  • 6 or 7 Medium Granny Smith Apples (Peeled, Cored, and sliced *not too thinly!*)
  • 3/4 or 1 C of sugar (depending on how sweet you like it)
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 2-3 Tbsp Flour
  • 2 Tbsp Butter

Method:

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Press one crust into the bottom of your pie plate.  Some crust should be hanging over the sides, leave that alone.  Mix sugar, cinnamon, and flour together in a bowl.  Toss your sliced apples in the mixture.  Pour the apples into the pie plate.  Cut the butter into small cubes, and tuck evenly into spaces between your apples.  Place the top pie crust on top, be careful not to stretch it, and seal the edges with your fingers, or a fork.  Using a knife, make slits on top of the pie.  They can be decorative, but they don’t have to be.  Make sure they’re big enough, or too much steam will get trapped in your pie.  Now, this is important.  Cover the edges of your crust with foil until the last 15 minutes of cooking.  If not, they will get way too brown.

Bake for 45 minutes.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

