Chocolate Peanut Butter Gooey Butter Cake

21 Apr

You may be saying to yourself, “Another chocolate and peanut butter combination?”  I really need to change things up.  I have been wanting to try this version of Paula Deen’s gooey butter cake ever since I made the pumpkin one.  My expectations were high for this version, because the pumpkin one was out of this world.  Let me start by saying, this doesn’t come close.  It’s not that it isn’t good, but it doesn’t even seem to be the same dessert as the pumpkin version.  The filling is gooey, as promised by the title, but the crust/cake part didn’t seem to have the texture I was looking for.  I wonder if it was because I mistakenly picked up the cake mix with pudding in the mix.  I know I didn’t use that kind previously.

With that said, the boyfriend and coworkers enjoyed these.  I thought they tasted better the next day.  I am definitely my biggest critic.  I always have an idea of how I want something to turn out, and when it doesn’t work out that way, I’m disappointed.

If you’re wondering how I haven’t had triple bypass surgery after baking all of these desserts with 2 sticks of butter, trust me, I’m giving away more than I consume.  My favorite part about baking/cooking, is sharing the love.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Gooey Butter Cakes (Paula Deen)

 

What You’ll Need:

Cake:

  • 1 (18 1/4-ounce) package Devil’s Food cake mix
  • 1 egg
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted

Filling:

  • 1 (8-ounce) package cream cheese, softened
  • 1 Cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 8 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 1 (16-ounce) box powdered sugar

Method:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Combine the cake mix, egg, and butter and mix well with an electric mixer. Pat the mixture into the bottom of a lightly greased 13 by 9-inch baking pan.

To make the filling: In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and peanut butter until smooth. Add the eggs, vanilla, and butter, and beat together. Next, add the powdered sugar and mix well. Spread mixture over cake batter and bake for 40 to 50 minutes. Make sure not to over bake as the center should be a little gooey.

(Side Note:  I took these out of the oven at 40 minutes, and I baked it in my 13X9 glass Pyrex.  Be careful not to over bake these.  They have a lot less moisture than the pumpkin version, so they won’t take as long.)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

